Let’s meet… some TYPES of yoga in the BYC!!!

There are many many different styles of yoga during the BYC, check out BYC´s program and you will be delighted by the different options and teachers that you will be able to experience!!


If you want to know more about each type of yoga, TRY it!! The BYC is the best way to do it, there are so many styles, classes and teachers that each of us will be trying something new for sure! I feel this year at BYC our brain will be like a sponge learning, experiencing so many different and exciting things, honestly I can´t wait to be there!

Let’s go for it then! Here are some types of yoga you will find during the BYC and a brief description of each one! Enjoy the reading, but even more, enjoy the experience of attending a class ;o)

**Descriptions for each style are taken from Internet**


This form of yoga is intensely physical and athletic. Ashtanga yogis practice a prescribed set of asanas, channel energy through the body using bandhas (locks), and concentrate on singular points using drishti (gaze) in asanas.


This type of yoga is a graceful, yet challenging form of yoga based on Sri Dharma Mittra’s almost fifty years of practice of classical yoga. As students move through the different series, they are encouraged to go deeper and experience the practice in a meditative and spiritual way. Dharma Yoga has roots in all nine forms of yoga, including Hatha, Raja, Karma, Kriya, Bhakti, Japa, Laya and Jana,  as well as a focus on the Eight Limbs of Yoga (Patanjali’s Ashtanga Yoga) with great emphasis placed on Yama and Niyama.


Vinyasa means “breath-synchronized movement,” and Vinyasa yoga is a series of poses that will move you through the power of inhaling and exhaling. Vinyasa movements are smoothly flowing and almost dance-like, which explains why it is sometimes referred to as Vinyasa Flow or just Flow.


Watching two AcroYogis transitioning together from pose to pose is awe-inspiring. It’s a mostly silent yoga pas de deux, with the “base” and the “flier” flowing seamlessly from one gravity-defying move to the next, then the next. The advanced moves take practice, determination, and skill. But if you look deeper, you’ll see something else: You’ll notice trust between partners, cooperation, and rock-solid communication. It’s about the virtues these yoga innovators hold dear: trust, communication, and playfulness.


The word hatha means willful or forceful. Hatha yoga refers to a set of physical exercises (known as asanas or postures), and sequences of asanas, designed to align your skin, muscles, and bones. The postures are also designed to open the many channels of the body—especially the main channel, the spine—so that energy can flow freely. Hatha is also translated as ha meaning “sun” and tha meaning “moon.” This refers to the balance of masculine aspects—active, hot, sun—and feminine aspects—receptive, cool, moon—within all of us. Hatha yoga is a path toward creating balance and uniting opposites. In our physical bodies we develop a balance of strength and flexibility. We also learn to balance our effort and surrender in each pose. Hatha yoga is a powerful tool for self-transformation. It asks us to bring our attention to our breath, which helps us to still the fluctuations of the mind and be more present in the unfolding of each moment.


Jivamukti is co-founded by Sharon Gannon and David Life. Jivamukti is physically vigorous and intellectually stimulating practice with a focus on spiritual development. Expect to encounter flowing asana sequences along with Sanskrit chanting, references to scriptural texts, eclectic music (from the Beatles to Moby), yogic breathing practices, and meditation. One of the predominant principles of Jivamukti Yoga is ahimsa (nonharming), and classes often explore the link between yoga and animal rights, veganism, and activism.


A 90-minute class typically begins with chanting and ends with singing, and in between features asana, pranayama, and meditation designed to create a specific outcome. Expect to encounter challenging breathing exercises, including the rapid pranayama known as Breath of Fire, mini-meditations, mantras, mudras (sealing gestures), and vigorous movement-oriented postures, often repeated for minutes, that will push you to your limit—and beyond. Kundalini Yoga is sometimes called the Yoga of Awareness. The primary goal is to awaken kundalini energy, the psychoenergetic force that leads to spiritual elevation, and kick-start the process of transformation.

Once again… better to try the type of yoga that calls you than to read a lot about it ;o)
Happy end of spring and beginning of summer!!!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s